GBC Home
Student Rights and Responsibilities
Sexual harrassment graphic

Great Basin College will not tolerate sexual harassment of students, faculty, and staff. Victims of sexual harassment can feel hurt, frustrated, and helpless. As a member institution of the NSHE, GBC adheres to the policies and disciplinary sanctions set forth by the Board of Regents. The President has designated the Administrative Officer or the Affirmative Action Officer as the officials responsible for receiving and investigating complaints of sexual harassment. Any administrator, employee, or supervisor who is aware of an alleged incident of sexual harassment will take immediate action to bring the matter to the attention of the Administrative Officer (Vice President for Student Services) or the Vice President for Business Affairs (Affirmative Action Officer). Both are located in Berg Hall.

By definition, sexual harassment includes unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, sexually motivated physical contact or other verbal or physical conduct or communication of a sexual nature when:

  • Submission to that conduct or communication is made a term or condition, either explicitly or implicitly, of obtaining employment or education.
  • Submission to or rejection of that conduct or communication by an individual is used as a factor in decisions affecting that individual’s employment or education.
  • That conduct or communication has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with an individual’s employment or education, or of creating an intimidating, hostile, or offensive employment or educational environment.

Sexual Harassment is Illegal Under Federal and State Law

Sexual harassment including sexual violence is a form of discrimination; it is illegal. No employee or student, either in the workplace or in the academic environment, should be subject to unwelcome verbal or physical conduct that is sexual in nature. Sexual harassment does not refer to occasional compliments of a socially acceptable nature. It refers to behavior of a sexual nature that is not welcome, that is personally offensive, and that interferes with performance.

It is expected that students, faculty and staff will treat one another with respect.

Refer to webpage for further information.

Sexual Violence is a form of Sexual Harassment

Any act against another person forcibly or against a person’s will or non-forcibly, where a person is incapable of giving consent due to the victim’s use of alcohol or drugs; or, an individual may be unable to give consent due to an intellectual or other disability. Clery Act (Campus Security Act)

Forcibly: Non-forcibly:
  • Rape
  • Sexual Assault
  • Stalking                 
  • Incest
  • Sex with a minor       

Campus SaVE (Sexual Violence Elimination) Act defining...

Dating Violence:
Violence that is sexual or physical, or the threat of sexual or physical abuse, committed by a person who has been in a social relationship determined by type of and length of relationship and frequency of Interaction.

Domestic Violence:
Violence that is directed to a current or former spouse or intimate partner, where they were or are cohabitating, and/or where they share a child. Or, any other person against an adult or youth victim, who is protected from that person’s Act under the domestic or violence laws of the jurisdiction.

Acts and threats directed to a specific person that would cause a reasonable person to fear for his/her/others safety and would cause substantial emotional distress.

Unlawful Harassment

Unlawful harassment involves conduct aimed at any legally protected category,.a person’s age, disability, ethnicity, gender, gender identity or expression or genetic information, national origin, race, religion or sexual orientation.

What is Unlawful Harassment?

  • It is unwelcome;
  • It is offensive to both recipient and a “reasonable person;”
  • It unreasonably interferes with work performance or academic progress;
  • It mocks or shows hostility toward a person because of a characteristic that is protected;
  • It is judged under the same standards of unwelcome, severe, or pervasive.

Examples of Unlawful Harassment

  • Using racial, ethnic, gender slurs, reinforcing negative stereotypes;
  • jokes or pranks based on protected characteristic;
  • intimidating, threatening, or hostile acts related to a protected characteristic;
  • or circulating any material that mocks, demeans, or shows hostility toward an individual or a group based on a protected characteristic.

Once there is notice of possible harassment, we will...

  • investigate;
  • take prompt effective action to end the harassment;
  • remedy the effects;
  • and take action to reasonably prevent the recurrence; and do so in a prompt, equitable, and effective manner.

Important Contact Numbers

  • Police, Sheriff and Ambulance: 911
    • from campus phones: 9-911
  • GBC Campus Security: 775.934.4923
  • Rape, Abuse, and Incest National Network: 1.800.656.HOPE (4673)
  • National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1.800.799.SAFE (7233)
Great Basin College - 1500 College Parkway - Elko, Nevada 89801 - 775.738.8493
A member institution of the Nevada System of Higher Education
Accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
All rights reserved. Use of any content only by express permission of Great Basin College © 2015.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

This page is XHTML 1.0 compliant

This page is coded to conform to XHTML 1.0